Driving for Lyft

In the past year I’ve been watching the ride-sharing community grow, first through Uber and then through Lyft.  I’ve compared the two as one would compare Microsoft to Apple.  Lyft is obviously the smaller corporation, raking in $300 million annually versus Uber’s billions.  I did a small comparison between the two companies to see which one I wanted to drive for and in the end Lyft won; Lyft proved to superior for me because 1) It wasn’t a monster corporation and I know how bureaucratic large organizations can become 2) It offered a $300 incentive and $200 to sign on other riders.  Uber may do something similar but they weren’t reaching out to me.  Lyft and Uber both started in Hawaii around 2014 so it was a fair market advantage to work for either in my mind.

I signed up on 30 May to drive my BMW 535i in Hawaii, met with the mentor and waited the full two weeks for background checks.  The mentor, Terrence, promised that these checks could take anywhere from 48 hours to 2 weeks.  I have always had a clean driving record so I was caught off guard when 2 weeks came and passed but I had not heard anything from Lyft.  I learned that in this decade, if you jump on @Twitter and hashtag the crap out of corporations, someone from executive customer service will reach back.  Thes way you jump over all the front-end CS reps and are guaranteed a response.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 12.12.58 PM.png

After receiving a response, I resubmitted my Missouri driver license and was approved within 24 hours.  I hope this wasn’t the norm for many.  As soon as I was approved, I turned on my app and driver mode was ready to rock.  I clicked “Go Online” and within minutes I got pinged for my first ride.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 12.19.04 PM.png

After driving for Lyft for a month and signing up three drivers, I believe that Lyft offers a great source of additional income with a minimal investment of time.  I also learned a lot about the state that I work in, met a lot of wonderful and interesting people, got a glimpse of the prevalent drug trade on Oahu, and discovered a lot of new locations.  The only thing left to do is to catch Pokemon while working Lyft!

If you’re interested in driving for Lyft, I would check out the bonuses in your area.  New York, Los Angeles and Miami are heavy-hitters granting some drivers as much as a $1,000 signing bonus.  It’s a matter of timing.

But, hey check it out here: https://www.lyft.com/drivers/CALEB548613

About mrwordpressor

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Posted on July 15, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi…There is a guy that drives Uber in Hawaii on the Uber/Lyft Facebook group…He appears to be making an absolute KILLING.

  2. PS: When you receive my comment can you delete his public link and name? I feel uncomfortable putting that information out into the public!

Leave a Reply

