Found this old 2010 post

It’s never too late to look back into your past and see what was the current state of operations. Found this 2010 reflection before I kicked off my military career.

 

“Reflections of a civilian.

July 13, 2010 at 12:02pm

 
As one of my friend’s said to me, “are you enjoying the last few days as a civilian,” it made me think about what I have done so far and what I am embarking to do. I see this as a huge turning point in my life – as vivid as black and white. So, to indulge myself I wanted to reflect on who I was, where I’ve been and what I wish to become.

I’ve never imagined a life in the military. All my life through high school I always held a negative view of it – believing what one person told me ‘that the bottom 10% of our high school class fights our wars’. Then, at the beginning of my junior year when I was deciding on colleges, my father suggested that I apply to West Point and become an officer. I half-halfheartedly did so and to my surprise I secured my Senatorial recommendations and passed the entrance process. But as senior year passed, I heard my friends talk about college and all the glory of the social scene: drugs, alcohol, and popularity and I lost sight of my goal. Plus, I also was involved in a relationship that I didn’t want to end so eventually, being that I had only applied to USMA and Rutgers as my backup (I wrote “Hi.” for my essay), I gave up on West Point and started freshman year at RU. 

Looking back, four years of drinking and the social life did nothing for me in the REAL world. Yes, I learned the different types of alcohol and ways to mix it – hot spots in the city – made many acquaintances and even learned how to build my own computer.. however, for what? Even with an internship at the prosecutor’s office junior through senior year I still could not form my future with all the mosaic pieces I acquired. All my experience was for nothing. One redeeming factor from college was the blessing of having met an amazing person who turned my life around. A person who took all of my preconceptions of what “fun” college is supposed to be, showed me how poisonous that lifestyle was, and showed me what purpose I should have in life. This person turned my life 180 and propelled me in the opposite direction. I am not discounting all other influences my friends have had on my life, but this was the most profound.

Therefore, my first goal after obtaining my BA was to acquire a job. Easier said than done. As amazing my resume was (i kid i kid), none of it landed a job for me. In fact, it wasn’t my BA that got me my first job, it was my hobby on the side, my EMT certification that landed my first 9-5. To this day, had I not had that I could have been working Mickey D’s at $8/hr for all I know. For this, I am thankful to my father who pushed me to be “well-rounded” in high school and helped me become an EMT. With this job I then reached my second goal, obtaining “liquidable income.” It manifested itself in the form of my beloved Honda Accord Coupe. My first purchase, milestone, and major accomplishment. I now had something completely owned by myself, something I alone was responsible for. 

I was unhappy with my current situation. I knew my calling wasn’t to be an EMT. I went through college to become a lawyer! But, again, with advice my father gave me since I was young, I kept all my options opened and applied everywhere for a job. Spread enough seed and something will grow is the Confucian saying. Uncle James passed away in March. He was a Colonel in the Army. My family went to his funeral in Hawaii and was immediately welcomed by all sorts of uniformed personnel. Through all the accommodations provided to us a new understanding of the Army developed and I immediately applied through a recruiter when I returned home.

As time passed, applications and phone calls led to interviews and as interviews led to dead-ends I didn’t want to be one of ‘those guys’ who joined the Army because they had nothing else going for them. I promised myself I would find purpose for joining, purpose for being a part of the strongest fighting force in the world. 

It wasn’t until 2 months ago that I finally found that purpose. After my first job, I realized I could not live the tedious, repetitive 9-5/ M-F job. It was all too boring and held no purpose for me. I wanted a life with meaning. We get one shot at this life, I wanted to leave a positive mark in this world. 

So without further ado, HOOAH.”

About mrwordpressor

If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

